Chimamanda Elected Into American Academy Of Arts And Science

Nigerian novelist, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has
been elected into the American Academy of Arts
and Sciences, along with 227 new members, the
Academy announced today. In March, Chimamanda was also elected into the
American Academy of Arts and Letters, the second
Nigerian to be so honoured, after Professor Wole
Soyinka. She will be inducted in May. In the announcement by the Academy of Arts and
Science, Chimamanda was listed among 40 Foreign
Honorary Members from 19 countries elected by
the Academy. Other foreigners honoured come from Australia,
China, India, Japan, and Uganda. Among them are scientist Ruth Arnon; chemist
Clare Grey; vaccinologist Rino Rappuoli; former
Health Minister for China Zhu Chen; archaeologist
and expert on animal mummies Salima Ikram;
Israeli novelist David Grossman; award-winning
actor and activist Sir Ian McKellen; and president of the Foundation for Worldwide Cooperation and
former prime minister of Italy Romano Prodi. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on
October 7, 2017, in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Among the people elected are some of the world’s
most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers,
artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic
leaders. They will all form the 237th class of the
academy. Please see the full list here: Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts
and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned
societies and independent policy research centres,
convening leaders from the academic, business,
and government sectors to respond to the
challenges facing—and opportunities available to— the nation and the world. Members contribute to
Academy publications and studies in science,
engineering, and technology policy; global
security and international affairs; the humanities,
arts, and education; and American institutions and
the public good. Members of the 2017 class include winners of the
Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur
Fellows; Fields Medalists; Presidential Medal of
Freedom and National Medal of Arts recipients;
and Academy Award, Grammy Award, Emmy
Award, and Tony Award winners.


Popular Posts